Library Survival Guide

Rachel Lawyer, USU Libraries | rachel.lawyer@usu.edu

Whether you are a freshman or senior or graduate student, attending in Logan or a USU Statewide campus, USU Libraries welcome you back this fall semester, and we want to make your transition a little smoother with our Library Survival Guide. The library is your hub for academic support, in-person and online. We have the staff, resources, spaces, and technology to support your academic life and well-being at USU.

USU libraries offer physical, digital, and audiobooks for your research or leisure needs. You can use the library catalog to search and find books and check them out at your campus library location in Logan, Price or Blanding. If you are at another statewide campus, you can request books through the library catalog to be delivered to your home free of charge through our home delivery service.

Did you know?

• Popular e-books and audiobooks can be checked out directly from your mobile device using Overdrive and the Libby App!
• Interlibrary Loan - If we don't have a book or article you need, we can get it for you from another library using interlibrary loan!
• Are you a statewide student? You can get books delivered to you or access books from other academic libraries in your area. See our guide on statewide access for more information.
• Save money with Course Reserves: Students can use Course Reserves to access textbooks for a few hours at a time if placed on reserve by the course instructor. 

Featured Collections:

Whether you are looking for group collaboration or quiet reflection, USU Libraries offer unique spaces at all three of our campus libraries.

Featured Spaces:

Computer labs with software, emerging technology like 3D printers and virtual reality, and printing are just some of the technology services available to you as a student on USU campuses.

Featured Technology:

The Libraries provides a wide range of tools to support your research projects and education at USU. Some key resources include:

• Browse our list of databases to find scholarly and popular articles, data and reports, and more.
• Use Quick Search to search across library collections for articles, books, and more.
• Check out our Frequently Asked Questions and Research Tips for help using the library and getting started with research.
• Contact the Library Help Desk via chat, email, phone, or in person to get expert help from a librarian!
• Explore Special Collections and our Digital Collections to discover unique materials relevant to the history of USU, Utah, and the intermountain west.

Meet with a Subject Librarian

Subject librarians are one of the best resources when it comes to academic research. We can help you find and evaluate information, cite sources, and more! View all subject librarians.

USU Libraries are committed to providing collections, services, and facilities that are accessible for all library users. Whether on or off-campus, it's easy to access library materials online. For help, see our access help guide. 

Did you know?

• Service animals are always welcome in the library.
• The library has all-gender restrooms on every floor and restrooms are equipped with free tampons and pads.
• The library has an infant care and lactation room, as well as a family study room to support students with children.
• We also have a disability resource center room in Room 114 that provides screen-reading software and tools. For more information on campus accommodations, check out the disability resource center.

Stay up-to-date on library news and events by checking out our news homepage and following our social media accounts.