May 24, 2023

Summer Citizens' Guide to the Library

Rachel Lawyer | rachel.lawyer@usu.edu

Welcome summer citizens

Welcome to USU, Summer Citizens! While you are with us for the summer, consider checking out the Merrill-Cazier Library for books, access to computers, exhibits, and more. This is a guide to what the library can offer you this summer. For questions and further help, you can contact the library by phone at (435) 797-2678, email at library.help@usu.edu, or in person at the Checkout Desk in the library lobby. You can also check out our Frequently Asked Questions page for helpful library information.

Hours and Contact

The library’s summer hours are generally 7:30am-7:00pm M-Th; 7:30am-5:00pm F; and closed Saturday and Sunday and for certain holidays like Pioneer Day and Independence Day. These hours are subject to change so check out the hours webpage or library homepage for today’s hours.

News and Events

Curious about what’s going on at the library? Stay up to date by checking the Library News page. You can also follow us on Instagram, Twitter, TikTok, and Facebook. Search @USULibraries for our profiles!

map of campus

The Merrill-Cazier Library is located on the southeast side of the Logan campus.

Books, Magazines and Newspapers

You can check out print books from the Merrill-Cazier Library for up to three weeks. Search for books online using the Books and Media Catalog.

You can also browse books in person. The New Books Reading Lounge on the Northeast side of the second floor has a collection of popular new books as well as print subscriptions to select newspapers and magazines.

The books in the library are organized according to the Library of Congress classification system. To browse by subject, you can find where the shelves for each subject are located by using the library maps.

You can access articles and databases for research by using the computers in the Merrill-Cazier Library with your A-Number. For information on how to set up your password to access library computers, visit the "Resetting Your Password" page or stop by the IT desk in the library lobby. There are also public computers in the library that do not require a login.

Library Exhibits

Through the summer there will also be physical exhibits in the library, including our Old Ephraim exhibit on the Lower Level. In May on display in the Pop-Up Gallery in the library atrium is a selection of books for Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month, in June there will be an LGBTQIA+ Pride Month display, and in July a Disability Pride Month display.

Special Collections & Archives

On the lower level of the Merrill-Cazier Library is our Special Collections and Archives (SCA) area where we house rare books, photographs, manuscripts, university records, and more. For more information on how to use and visit Special Collections, check out the SCA hours webpage.

USU Digital History Collections are available to browse online and showcase unique historical and cultural heritage content from Special Collections and Archives as well as community partners.

Some highlights worth checking out are the recent Beaver Mountain Oral History Project, the Utah State University Buzzer Yearbooks Collection, and the Northwestern Band of the Shoshone Nation digital collection.

Library Spaces

The library also has plenty of space for public use. The first floor contains the Information Commons, which has many computers for use. If you are taking classes and have an A-number you may use any of these computers. If
you do not have an A-number, there are public computers available for use located by the IT
help desk on the first floor. There are different kinds of seating arrangements depending on your needs, such as a stationary bike desk, couches, study tables and chairs with outlets, and study rooms for more privacy. We also have a Family Study Room, which contains books and toys for visiting children. Grab food from the Forum Café or the Clutch Grab and Go located on the first floor of the library.