Special Collections & Archives Survival Guide
Lower Level of the Merrill-Cazier Library
Author: Braydon Wright, Library Peer Mentor | braydon.wright@usu.edu
Library Peer Mentor Braydon Wright helps students look at rare books in The Hatch Room.
Special Collections & Archives, located on the lower level of the Merrill-Cazier Library, houses rare books, art books, folklore, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, and university archives. While some materials are open to browse in circulating stacks, many more are carefully preserved in closed stacks. Select materials are available online. It may seem intimidating to access these items, but we are here to help you!
What do we have?
Special Collections & Archives is home to collection materials that tell the story of the history of Utah, Mormonism and the Western United States. With seven curatorial areas, we have historically collected materials that will help students, staff and researchers. We continue to collect contemporary material for future researchers.
Collections Areas Include
- Art and Design
- Fife Folklore Archives
- Government Information
- Manuscripts
- Photographs
- Rare Books
- University Archives
We also work to curate both digital and physical exhibits that highlight our collections and make them readily accessible to the public.
About the Fife Folklore Collection
The Fife Folklore Archives (FFA) is one of the largest repositories of American folklore in the United States. The FFA is part of Utah State University Libraries' Special Collections and Archives, where the American Folklore Society Manuscript Collection is also housed.
Outside of the Tanner Reading Room
Can I go in there?
Yes! While we keep the doors closed to help with climate control, you can come in during our operating hours. We are typically open Monday - Thursday from 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. but you can see our current hours on the website.
About the Tanner Reading Room
We operate under a closed-stack environment and as such patrons must use materials in the Tanner Reading Room and materials may not be checked out. First time users must complete a Registration Agreement (good for 5 years) and provide a picture ID each time they use materials. Users must agree to the Reading Room Rules. Some items may only be available online.
Special Collections & Archives materials
How can I find what I need?
If you need help getting started, be sure to check out our LibGuide about finding primary sources and our tutorials page.
Do you know what you need? You can find books, printed materials and government information using the Library Catalog. Documents, photos and University Archives are found using Archives West. New to using Archives West? Check out this tutorial.
Digital materials are available in our Digital History Collections and the University Archives online collection.
What collections circulate?
Specific materials are open for browsing in public shelves on the lower level and can be checked out.
Government Information
The Government Information Collection provides access to multidisciplinary physical and digital public documents produced by the U.S. Government. Materials are housed in the southwest wing of the building and are accessible via the SuDoc call number system, with call numbers running A to Y.
Government Information collection staff provide public access and reference service to members of the USU community and the general public. Access to the circulating collection is available during all Merrill-Cazier Library hours. Materials stored in the department’s Secure Area (indicated in Catalog fields) must be accessed during office hours.
Government Information is located on the Lower Level Southwest of the Merrill-Cazier Library
Art Books
Our circulating collection of art books is located in the southeast corner of the lower level. You can explore books related to the visual arts (filed under N), photography (filed under TR), and arts and crafts (filed under TT).
The Prestini Design Collection is located in the Art Book Room. Gifted to the library by Kathryn Caine Wanlass, a dedicated supporter of the arts at Utah State University, this collection is the core of James L. Prestini's personal library. Visually oriented, the collection is a small library in itself, including materials of every possible subject.
Who can help me?
Whether you're looking for research help or have more questions about using our materials, one of our amazing curators will be more than happy to help you!
Have more questions?
Our hours vary by time of year. To see our current hours, check out library.usu.edu/sca. Feel free to email us at scweb@usu.edu with any additional questions. We can't wait to meet you!