fife home
Formatting the Final Paper



FAQs:
  • All papers must be accompanied by a cover page that includes: title of paper, student name, date, course name/number, and instructor name.
  • Papers mus
  • Papers are to be 5-8 pages in length, excluding the bibliography.
  • All papers must be typed, double-spaced, in a 12 point standard (i.e., nothing cute or extra large) font.
  • Standard 1" margins on all sides.
  • Photos, transcriptions, drawings, and other additional support materials should be placed in an Appendix.
  • Final papers, unless otherwise noted, will be added to the FOLK COLLECTION 8: USU in USU's Special Collections & Archives.
  • All papers (collections) submitted to the Fife Folklore Archives must be places in a 3" side bound report cover.
  • Release forms (for your informants and for yourself, as the collector) must accompany your paper.
  • Documentary materials (taped, video, CD-ROM, etc.) must accompany your final paper.
  • Transcriptions should be single spaced, both in the Appendix and final paper.
  • Spelling, grammar, punctuation, etc. counts.

    How to format citations for use in your paper:
    Reference to titles of articles must be enclosed in quotation marks, followed by the publication date in parenthesis. Titles of articles should follow capitalization standards for titles. For example: Rosemary Levy Zumwalt notes in "The Complexity of Children's Folklore" (1995) that there are differences between what she calls the ideal little girl and the actual child saying the rhymes.

    Reference to titles of books must be underlined and followed by the publication date in parenthesis. Titles of books should follow capitalization standards for titles. For example: In Greasy Grimy Gopher Guts (1995), Josepha Sherman writes that children's folklore can be considered subversive.

    Direct quotes from a book or an article should include the author's name, along with the date of the publication and the page number enclosed within parenthesis. For example: Sue Samuelson writes that "children are very concerned with issues of contamination" (1980:199).

    Indirect quotes, ideas, etc. from a book or an article that you use or paraphrase still need to be attributed to the author--otherwise, it's plagiarism. After you use an idea, cite the author's last name, publication date, and if necessary, the page number in parenthesis. For example: Children worry about catching disease Samuelson 1980: 199).



    Back Next
    Guide home


    hand
    usu
    For reference questions: randy.williams@usu.edu or phone (435) 797-3493.
    Fife Folklore Archives, Utah State University Libraries, Logan Utah 84322-3000